How quickly things crumble

Studies have shown that you’re in a healthier position, and have a longer life expectancy being slightly overweight than underweight…and now I know why..

Well as the majority of you know I’ve been doing really well over the last few months…continuously gaining weight, challenging anorexic thoughts/fears etc and generally just being a happier person.

If you’re offended by TMI i suggest you close the page now.

A couple of weeks ago I started to get pretty mild flu-like symptoms which were more of a nuisance than anything else, but 4 days ago things took a sudden turn for the worse and I’ve got what appears to be some sort of awful virus (or bacterial infection we don’t know yet) which has given me severe D&V, abdominal cramps to the point I can’t move, chest pain, fatigue and a complete inability to stay hydrated. Also a result of this, any food I manage to eat is coming straight back out of me (along with blood and all other sorts) making me lose half a stone in as little as 3 days. Half a stone thats taken me 21 weeks (just over 4months) to gain.

The past 2 nights I ended up back in hospital which for a start brought back a whole host of god awful memories, and resulted in them giving me some medication to help deal with the pain but other than trying to test the actual cause, there isnt an awful lot they can do except wait for it to pass. The concern obviously is how much more damage will be done in this time? And due to my initial low weight-how much leeway do I realistically have before things get seriously dangerous?

This brings me back to my initial point of how dangerous being underweight can actually be…even if you’re functioning well on a day to day basis and can convince yourself you’re absolutely fine – sure in that moment you ARE fine but you are also vunerable. You are able to catch things more easily as you’re immune system is weaker than the average individual, also meaning you are more badly affected by that illness and less capable of fighting it off. And secondly you don’t have the energy reserves in your body during this brief period of malnutrition where you are unable to absorb any of the food you provide yourself with and by this point there is nothing you can do except cross your fingers and hope for the best! – which is my current method of choice

I knew all this before and wasn’t purposefully keeping myself at a less than ideal weight-I was just still working towards my goal but if anyone out there is keeping themselves slightly underweight or ‘border-line’ healthy which i know many people do (especially young girls) purely for the sake of ‘looking good’ – really think of the consequences this could have on your health! Because trust me when I say it’s not worth it..

P.S everyone go and get a flu jab

Emma xo

2 thoughts on “How quickly things crumble

  1. s0189570 March 3, 2017 / 6:47 pm

    I’ve been trying to do the whole recovery thing on my own at home for nearly 3 three weeks and so far so good. However, over the past week or so I haven’t felt well at all and I’ve got a virus and thankfully got antibiotics today! But I completely feel for you when falling I’ll in recovery. (I know this post is old but it came to my mind today when I was feeling sorry for myself!). It makes everything a million times harder doesn’t it, if keeping on track of things wasn’t hard enough , throw in a illness and it’s such hard work and exhausting. I’ve still eaten everything as o still have an appetite but particularly today I’ve pretty much been stuck in bed which doesn’t help with mood ey! Are immune systems weaker in recovery or stronger because you are getting better nutrition? Just feels this virus is a million times worse than any I’ve had before and I don’t really get ill often. Sending lots of love, Chelsea Xxx

    Like

    • emmahynard March 3, 2017 / 8:17 pm

      Hey Hun! Glad you’ve been doing ok! I didn’t lose my appetite either and I think the reason answers your other question! Despite good nutrition our bodies themselves are still starved! In the same way if someone who was dangerously overweight had good nutrition for a few weeks, as long as they are still over weight their bodies would still respond in that way, when it comes to high blood pressure, risk of heart disease etc. You’re physical health is a product of the state your body is in and the nutrition you have is just a path to that state if that makes any sense?? And I know it’s frustrating, it’s like I’ve been in a calorie surplus now for well over a year and yet my bones are still weak, still can’t have kids and clearly my immune system is still low! But rather than finding it demotivating we have to focus on the fact that with the right nutrition and adequate time we are capable of changing the state our bodies are in! Sorry for the ramble and hope that helps xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

